Skip to navigation

DUI Attorney in West Chester, Pennsylvania 

Getting charged with or convicted of a DUI can result in long-lasting consequences. From court-ordered penalties such as jail time, fines, or the loss of your driver’s license to repercussions in your personal life (such as higher auto insurance or the loss of your job), it goes without saying that when arrested for a DUI, you need someone to fight for you. Our criminal defense attorney at Strand Law Offices, LLC has been practicing criminal law for over 20 years. When facing accusations of drunk driving, turn to us. We will listen to your story and help you the way you want to be helped. If you have been charged with a DUI in West Chester, Lancaster County, or surrounding counties throughout Pennsylvania, contact us today, and schedule your free case consultation.  

Facing DUI Charges?  

Contact Us 

Why Should You Hire Our Attorney? 

Our founder – Eric Strand – has been serving as a criminal defense attorney for over 20 years. At the beginning of his career, he worked as a clerk at The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania. He then transitioned into a position at a large law firm where he was one of 500 lawyers. He then felt the need to serve his clients more personably and directly which is why he opened Strand Law Offices, LLC in West Chester. When you hire us, you will be at the wheel. We will provide you with insight and advice for your DUI case, but the decisions are ultimately yours. To get a game plan started, reach out to our criminal defense attorney today and set up a free meeting. 

DUI Penalties by Degree in Pennsylvania 

General DUI Penalties 

If your blood alcohol content (BAC) was between 0.08% and 0.10%, you could be convicted of a standard DUI charge. The penalties could be as follows:  

  • First Offense – In Pennsylvania, a first DUI conviction will not land you any time in jail, but you may be required to complete six months of probation. Also, you may not have your driver’s license suspended, but you may receive a fine of up to $300. 

  • Second Offense – A second standard DUI conviction could land you anywhere between five days to six months in jail and a fine ranging from $300 to $2,500. You may also lose your driver’s license for up to 12 months. 

  • Third Offense – Being convicted of a third DUI could result in a 10 day to two year jail sentence and a fine costing between $500 and $5,000. Similar to a second offense, you could have your driver’s license suspended for 12 months.  

Have you been arrested for a DUI in West Chester, Lancaster County, or any other county throughout Pennsylvania? Contact our criminal defense attorney at Strand Law Offices, LLC, and set up a free case evaluation. You do not want to suffer the consequences of a DUI conviction, which is why we are dedicated to serving you. 

High DUI Impairment Penalties  

In Pennsylvania, it is considered a high rate DUI if your BAC is no lower than 0.10% and no higher than 0.16%. Since the impairment rate is higher, the penalties are harsher. If convicted of a high-rate DUI, you may lose your license for 12 months, unless it is your third infraction, then it could be 18 months. 

  • First Offense – A DUI conviction with a higher BAC rate could land you anywhere between 48 hours to 6 months in jail and a fine between $500 and $5,000. 

  • Second Offense – A second DUI conviction at a high rate may result in a 30 day to six month jail sentence and fines no lower than $750 and no higher than $5,000. 

  • Third Offense – A third or subsequent offense could come with a penalty of 90 days to five years in jail and fines between $1,500 and $10,000.  

Highest DUI Rate Penalties  

The highest DUI rate in Pennsylvania is for those who have a BAC of 0.16% or higher. These penalties are the harshest a court could hand out. 

  • First Offense – A DUI conviction of a BAC rate of 0.16% or higher could result in a jail sentence of 72 hours to six months, a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, and the loss of your driver’s license for up to 12 months. 

  • Second Offense – If convicted of a second offense to this degree, you may be sentenced to 90 days or five years in jail, a $1,500 to $10,000 fine, and a revoked license for up to 18 months. 

  • Third Offense – At this stage, you will be charged with a felony. This conviction could result in serving one to five years in jail, fines of up to $10,000, and the loss of your driver’s license for up to 18 months.  

While every case is different, the penalties are never easy. Speak to our criminal defense attorney today, and we will help you the way you want us to. You are in control of your future, we are just here to advise you and protect you along the way.  

ARD & Treatment Court 

Depending on your circumstances, you may be charged with having to attend a special sentencing program related to your situation. In Pennsylvania, there is the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) program, which helps first-time, nonviolent offenders rehabilitate and change their ways to avoid further trouble. This is especially helpful for those who have been convicted of a DUI. In the future, it can also help you expunge your record. Talk to our defense attorney today in West Chester, and let us help you take the steps to live a better future. 

DUI Attorney Serving West Chester, Pennsylvania 

You deserve an attorney who will take all of your thoughts, emotions, and needs into consideration. At Strand Law Offices, LLC, we will make your future the top of our priorities. Do not settle for anything less than that. Contact us today in West Chester, Pennsylvania, and schedule your free consultation. We provide our services to those facing DUI charges in Lancaster County and all other surrounding counties in Pennsylvania.